Deadly Hoops (Tanka)

Standard

playing basketball
thirty year old, healthy man
suddenly collapsed
emergency room, now dead
sobbing mom bawls over him.

© 2013 Liza Morales

image

[This Tanka was inspired by the scene I just witnessed in the emergency room. I am fourteen hours into my sixteen hour shift, here at the hospital, exhausted… now saddened.
There was a woman’s voice I heard from a distance, yelling, “I can’t lose my son!”
As I walked over to the ER, her cries were piercing, as she lustily clamored over the hospital bed, where her son lied breathless. This is devastating! He was simply playing basketball….
You never know when death will pay its visit. Cherish life!]

Prayers go up for his mother and family. May he rest in peace. 😦

Romans 14:8 
For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s

2 thoughts on “Deadly Hoops (Tanka)

Leave a Reply

