Just An Observation…

Standard

“Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously.  And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson~

Image

I sit here, this rainy Wednesday, sipping on my morning coffee. I’ve allowed several hours to pass me by, as I gaze out the window. I’ve been paying keen attention to everything in my surroundings and heedful all that affect my senses.

It was absolutely lovely falling asleep to the rain last night and even more of a blessing, waking up to it. I noticed the rain has been inconsistent all day. Earlier, it was falling pretty heavily and now it’s simmered down to a light drizzle.
Now that most of the leaves have fallen off the trees, I can see clearly into my neighbors’ yards. The landscape is covered with thousands of yellow and orange leaves and I can hear a dampened crunch as the squirrels scatter all around. I have been watching them chase each other, zipping across the yards and hurriedly up the naked trees. They flee around as though they’re in ‘squirrel heaven’. At a moment, one squirrel stopped running and looked up at me, in an upright position, standing on his hind legs and just stared. I wondered at that moment, what is this lil’ creature thinking? Then I noticed his chest insufflating, pulsing rapidly, and I thought, Wow! He is life. He has a heart and is breathing, just as I am. My goodness, God is truly amazing!
I’ve been blessed with Life and all the experiences that embellish the journey. I am grateful for the lessons. I am grateful for being blessed to have life’s necessities that lend to living comfortably, living in good health, with a home, food on the table, a job, a car, etc (all blessings). I awaken every morning with words of gratitude spilling from my lips, giving all praise and thanks for another awakening. I can go on for days talking about all that I am grateful for. Once you’re blessed with cognizance it enables us to be mindful of the endless bestowals in our lives. We must be grateful for what we have in life. It is imperative to be grateful and even more important to refrain from thoughts of lack. Know that you have all you need…. maybe not all you want but definitely, all that you need.

“True happiness is to enjoy the present, without anxious dependence upon the future, not to amuse ourselves with either hopes or fears but to rest satisfied with what we have, which is sufficient, for he that is so wants nothing. The greatest blessings of mankind are within us and within our reach. A wise man is content with his lot, whatever it may be, without wishing for what he has not.”
~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca  ~

Image

There are so many things and people in life, that are taken for granted, consciously or not. Unfortunately, most times the recognition doesn’t surface until one has experienced the loss of a person or a thing in their lives. I, personally, have experienced many losses, some through death and others through relational demise (in which, I’m sure, I’m not alone on this). Each loss has been agonizingly difficult. Some losses were more excrutiating than the next but at the end of it all, each and every experience is appreciated. Though at times, circumstance may be filled with confusion and pain, know that there is purpose. Re-focus your perspective and seek for the gem. Ferret out the lesson to be learned. Every soul that God places in our path, leaks a mission and adds to the design of His master plan. I am grateful for all the people and things that God has placed in my life that aid in the expansion of my core. I am full of thankfulness, that God has found me worthy of salvation.

To be grateful is to recognize the Love of God in everything He has given us – and He has given us everything. Every breath we draw is a gift of His love, every moment of existence is a grace, for it brings with it immense graces from Him.
Gratitude therefore takes nothing for granted, is never unresponsive, is constantly awakening to new wonder and to praise of the goodness of God. For the grateful person knows that God is good, not by hearsay but by experience. And that is what makes all the difference.”
~ Thomas Merton ~

Image

If ‘thank you’ is your only prayer, say it over and over, day in and day out.
If ‘thank you’ is your only prayer, be sure your life reflects the utterance of these words.

With endless gratitude,
Liza

Leave a Reply

