I Wish I Could Show You

Standard

I wish I could show you

the depths of my love

the color of its voice,

the fragrance of its breath.

Give me your mouth

so I can hand-feed you

the moon’s heartbeat —

my love in tempo.

Eternal lover, open your hands

unearth the  meadows

and graze at my pasture

in the calmness of green.

Hymns of my innerness

sing praise for abundance

to dissolve in abysmal roots,

where solitaire is unafraid.

Tomorrow, the sun will affirm

the passion of my harvest.

It is there, you will find my ripened fruit.

It is there, you will find the stillness of your name.

© 2013 Liza Morales
Image

4 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Show You

  1. Give me your mouth

    so that I can hand-feed you

    the moon’s heartbeat –

    my love in tempo.

    ……… Absolutely exquisite line, Reina. It’s so full of passion. I love the last line as well. This is once again, my favorite of yours to date…..wow!

  2. Senor, I humbly thank you. Your feedback is always appreciated. You are appreciated.

    I like that stanza, as well. I wanted a feeling of ‘robust’ in that stanza. I’ve been strictly reading Neruda and Rilke for the past two weeks…. of course, besides cyber blogs. Lol
    Your words were kind. Thank you, beloved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

