A Forgotten Dialogue (Choka)

Standard
She said, “I need you”
with watery eyes, blood shot
and Pinot Grigio breath

It’s the only way
she’d express her slew of words —
despaired thoughts slurred off her tongue

frightened soul hidden
deep in the depths of her guise
of drunken language and tears

she repeated her wants
consisting of compromise
that I could not deliver

I won’t sacrifice
my morals and righteousness
depriving my earned blessings

She just wanted love
through a corrupt frame of mind;
she sought my validation

She needs attention
seeking in crooked channels
through the broken and damaged

I pray for her now
as she mirrors reflection
seeing her through eyes of God

and everyday
I remind her of her worth
but I don’t think she hears me.

Her eyes are wide shut
and her ears are spoken for
so now I pass it off to God.

© 2013 Liza Morales

Image

Leave a Reply

